Independent program data. Not affiliated with any school.Texas program data checked Nov. 4, 2026 · How we source every number

Medical Lab Programs in the Rio Grande Valley Area

2 accredited programs train clinical laboratory technologists and technicians in the Rio Grande Valley area. Here is how their graduates do on the certification exam, how many find jobs, and what each publishes as its cost.

Medical laboratory science · Rio Grande Valley area · Updated Nov. 4, 2026

Programs
2
1 report an exam rate
Best certification exam rate
64.0%
Texas Southmost College
Lowest published cost
None published
Local median pay
$59,060
Rio Grande Valley 1

The Short Version

  • Texas Southmost College reports the highest certification exam rate in the area, 64.0% (2023 to 2025), against a Texas program median of 90.0%.
  • None of the 2 programs publishes a total program cost; ask each for its cost sheet.
  • Texas Southmost College is below NAACLS's benchmark or on probation; see its page for details.

These lines are generated from the numbers on this page and change when the data does.

Every Medical Lab Program in the Area

Highest certification exam rate first. Tap a program for its full outcomes, cost breakdown and sources. 2

Programcertification exam rateJob placementCost
Texas Southmost College
AAS, MLT, Brownsville
64.0%100%Not published
UTRGV
BS, MLS, Edinburg
Not reportedNot reportedNot published

Jobs and Pay in the Rio Grande Valley Area

$59,060
Median pay, Rio Grande Valley area 4
$36,680 to $88,300
What the middle half earns
830
Clinical laboratory technologists and technicians employed, Rio Grande Valley area
2,450
Openings a year in Texas, 2024 to 2034 5

About 830 clinical laboratory technologists and technicians work in the Rio Grande Valley area. The middle half earn between $36,680 and $88,300 a year; new graduates usually start toward the lower end. Texas expects about 2,450 openings a year statewide through 2034, from new positions, retirements and people changing jobs, with the number of jobs growing 15.6% (from 29,740 to 34,380).

Other Career Programs in the Rio Grande Valley Area

How to Read These Numbers

Graduates who passed a medical laboratory certification exam (usually the ASCP Board of Certification exam), as the program publishes it for NAACLS. Programs report a three-year figure or yearly rates; where only yearly rates are published we show the newest year rather than averaging them. Job placement: graduates who found jobs in the field or continued their education, as the program reports it to NAACLS. All Texas medical lab programs

Sources and Dates

  1. U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Clinical Laboratory Technologists and Technicians (29-2010), May 2025 estimates.
  2. National Accrediting Agency for Clinical Laboratory Sciences (NAACLS), checked Nov. 2026.
  3. Texas Southmost College: outcomes, TSC 2025 Program Outcomes PDF: 2025 data and 3-year total current to March 11, 2025. Graduation 100%, 100%, 90%..
  4. U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Texas and metro areas (employment and wage percentiles), May 2025 estimates.
  5. Texas Workforce Commission, long-term occupational projections, 2024 to 2034.

Every number was checked against its source on Nov. 4, 2026. Spot an error? Report it. Program Outcomes is independent and not affiliated with any school or NAACLS. Our independence policy