Independent program data. Not affiliated with any school.Texas program data checked Nov. 4, 2026 · How we source every number

College of the Mainland Dental Hygiene Program Costs $8,686 to $9,436. Here Is How Its Graduates Do.

An AAS program in Texas City, Two years full time, five semesters (68 credit hours).

Dental hygiene · AAS · Texas City, Texas · Updated Nov. 4, 2026

We are still collecting data for this program. This page will be listed in search once it has published outcomes and a cost or program details.

Total cost
$8,686 to $9,436
School estimate 1
NBDHE pass rate
Job placement
Payback time
0.8 to 0.9 yrs
At 10% of local pay
Local wage
$104,930
Median, Houston 2

The Short Version

  • Its published cost is at or below the median for Texas dental hygiene programs that publish one ($13,670).
  • At 10% of the local median wage for dental hygienists, the program cost is paid back in about 0.8 years.

These lines are generated from the numbers on this page and change when the data does.

How Graduates Do

CODA requires every accredited program to publish the same outcome measures, so they can be compared program to program. 3

?
NBDHE rate
?
Job placement
96.5%
Median of 4 Texas programs

Graduates who passed the National Board Dental Hygiene Examination, as the program publishes it. CODA does not require programs to post a standard set of outcomes, so many Texas programs publish none, and those that do differ in years and detail. Job placement: graduates employed as dental hygienists, as the program reports it.

Where the Money Goes

About half of every dollar goes to tuition and fees, 68 credits in-district. High uses the $2,000 textbook estimate, matching the packet's stated total of about $9,436. Licensure fees (about $2,004 to $2,154) and recommended loupes, memberships and review books (about $2,100 to $3,210) are extra.

ItemCost
Tuition and fees, 68 credits in-district$5,236
Instrument kits, typodont and supplies$2,200
Textbooks and e-book access (low estimate)$1,250
Total 1$8,686

Not included: living costs. Application packet for the Fall 2027 cohort, updated October 2026, two-year required expenses in-district.

Jobs and Pay in the Houston Area

$104,930
Median pay, Houston area 4
$99,220 to $107,200
What the middle half earns
3,060
Dental hygienists employed, Houston area
1,370
Openings a year in Texas, 2024 to 2034 5

About 3,060 dental hygienists work in the Houston area. The middle half earn between $99,220 and $107,200 a year; new graduates usually start toward the lower end. Texas expects about 1,370 openings a year statewide through 2034, from new positions, retirements and people changing jobs, with the number of jobs growing 21.8% (from 15,550 to 18,950).

Other Dental Hygiene Programs in the Houston Area

Compare all 6 dental hygiene programs in the Houston area

ProgramNBDHE rateJob placementCost
Houston City College
AAS, Houston
100%Not reportedNot published
College of the Mainland (this page)
AAS, Texas City
Not reportedNot reported$8,686 to $9,436
Lone Star College, Kingwood
AAS, Kingwood
Not reportedNot reported$16,000
Pima Medical Institute, Houston
AAS, Houston
Not reportedNot reportedNot published
The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston, School of Dentistry
BS, Houston
Not reportedNot reportedNot published
Wharton County Junior College
AAS, Wharton
Not reportedNot reported$11,500 to $16,063

Program Facts

Credential
AAS
Length
Two years full time, five semesters (68 credit hours)
Schedule
In person, full time
Starts
Fall (Fall 2027 courses begin Aug 16, 2027; apply May 3 to 14, 2027)
Before you apply
Composition I, A&P I, A&P II, Microbiology and Introductory Chemistry I, C or better, science within 5 years, prerequisite GPA 2.75.
Entrance exam
HSRT-AD (Health Science Reasoning Test), up to two attempts
Accreditation
CODA, Approval without reporting requirements (granted after the pre-graduation site visit, CODA Summer 2026 actions; program started Fall 2024)
Leads to
National Board Dental Hygiene Examination (NBDHE), a clinical licensing exam and a Texas license
Visit College of the Mainland's program page ↗

Sources and Dates

  1. College of the Mainland Dental Hygiene application packet (Fall 2027), Application packet for the Fall 2027 cohort, updated October 2026, two-year required expenses in-district.
  2. U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Dental Hygienists (29-1292), May 2025 estimates.
  3. Commission on Dental Accreditation (American Dental Association) (CODA), checked Nov. 2026.
  4. U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Texas and metro areas (employment and wage percentiles), May 2025 estimates.
  5. Texas Workforce Commission, long-term occupational projections, 2024 to 2034.

Every number was checked against its source on Nov. 4, 2026. Spot an error? Report it. Program Outcomes is independent and not affiliated with any school or CODA. Our independence policy