Dental Hygiene Programs in the Houston Area
6 accredited programs train dental hygienists in the Houston area. Here is how their graduates do on the NBDHE, how many find jobs, and what each publishes as its cost.
The Short Version
- Houston City College reports the highest NBDHE rate in the area, 100% (2022-2023 to 2024-2025), against a Texas program median of 96.5%.
- Of the 6 programs, 3 publish a total cost, from $8,686 at College of the Mainland to $16,000 at Lone Star College, Kingwood.
- Dental hygienists around Houston earn a median of $104,930, 6% above the Texas median of $99,240.
These lines are generated from the numbers on this page and change when the data does.
Every Dental Hygiene Program in the Area
Highest NBDHE rate first. Tap a program for its full outcomes, cost breakdown and sources. 2
| Program | NBDHE rate | Job placement | Cost |
|---|---|---|---|
| Houston City College AAS, Houston | 100% | Not reported | Not published |
| College of the Mainland AAS, Texas City | Not reported | Not reported | $8,686 to $9,436 |
| Lone Star College, Kingwood AAS, Kingwood | Not reported | Not reported | $16,000 |
| Pima Medical Institute, Houston AAS, Houston | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
| The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston, School of Dentistry BS, Houston | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
| Wharton County Junior College AAS, Wharton | Not reported | Not reported | $11,500 to $16,063 |
Jobs and Pay in the Houston Area
About 3,060 dental hygienists work in the Houston area. The middle half earn between $99,220 and $107,200 a year; new graduates usually start toward the lower end. Texas expects about 1,370 openings a year statewide through 2034, from new positions, retirements and people changing jobs, with the number of jobs growing 21.8% (from 15,550 to 18,950).
Other Career Programs in the Houston Area
How to Read These Numbers
Graduates who passed the National Board Dental Hygiene Examination, as the program publishes it. CODA does not require programs to post a standard set of outcomes, so many Texas programs publish none, and those that do differ in years and detail. Job placement: graduates employed as dental hygienists, as the program reports it. All Texas dental hygiene programs
Sources and Dates
- U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Dental Hygienists (29-1292), May 2025 estimates.
- Commission on Dental Accreditation (American Dental Association) (CODA), checked Nov. 2026.
- Houston City College: outcomes, Program page lists 100% for 2024-2025 (14 passed), 2023-2024 (13 passed) and 2022-2023 (12 passed); attempted counts are taken as equal to passed since the rate is 100%. Years in byYear are the ending year..
- College of the Mainland Dental Hygiene application packet (Fall 2027), Application packet for the Fall 2027 cohort, updated October 2026, two-year required expenses in-district.
- Wharton County Junior College Dental Hygiene program page, Program page estimate, in-district, no year given.
- Lone Star College-Kingwood Dental Hygiene FAQ, Approximate program cost stated in the program FAQ, no year given.
- U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Texas and metro areas (employment and wage percentiles), May 2025 estimates.
- Texas Workforce Commission, long-term occupational projections, 2024 to 2034.
Every number was checked against its source on Nov. 4, 2026. Spot an error? Report it. Program Outcomes is independent and not affiliated with any school or CODA. Our independence policy