The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston, School of Dentistry Dental Hygiene Program: Pass Rate, Jobs and Local Pay
A BS program in Houston, Four semesters plus a summer term (67 hours).
We are still collecting data for this program. This page will be listed in search once it has published outcomes and a cost or program details.
How Graduates Do
CODA requires every accredited program to publish the same outcome measures, so they can be compared program to program. 2
Graduates who passed the National Board Dental Hygiene Examination, as the program publishes it. CODA does not require programs to post a standard set of outcomes, so many Texas programs publish none, and those that do differ in years and detail. Job placement: graduates employed as dental hygienists, as the program reports it.
What It Costs
The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston does not publish a total cost for this program. The program page refers to the catalog, which gives no program tuition total Ask the program for its cost sheet; contact details are on its page.
For comparison only, not this program's price: the 13 Texas dental hygiene programs that publish a cost range from $4,290 to $29,729, with a median of $13,670.
Jobs and Pay in the Houston Area
About 3,060 dental hygienists work in the Houston area. The middle half earn between $99,220 and $107,200 a year; new graduates usually start toward the lower end. Texas expects about 1,370 openings a year statewide through 2034, from new positions, retirements and people changing jobs, with the number of jobs growing 21.8% (from 15,550 to 18,950).
Other Dental Hygiene Programs in the Houston Area
Compare all 6 dental hygiene programs in the Houston area
| Program | NBDHE rate | Job placement | Cost |
|---|---|---|---|
| Houston City College AAS, Houston | 100% | Not reported | Not published |
| College of the Mainland AAS, Texas City | Not reported | Not reported | $8,686 to $9,436 |
| Lone Star College, Kingwood AAS, Kingwood | Not reported | Not reported | $16,000 |
| Pima Medical Institute, Houston AAS, Houston | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
| The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston, School of Dentistry (this page) BS, Houston | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
| Wharton County Junior College AAS, Wharton | Not reported | Not reported | $11,500 to $16,063 |
After You Graduate: Getting to Work in Texas
Texas requires a dental hygienist license from the Texas State Board of Dental Examiners (TSBDE). New graduates of a CODA-accredited program must pass the NBDHE, a Board-approved regional clinical exam (TSBDE validates ADEX and CRDTS-SRTA scores), and the TSBDE Jurisprudence Assessment, and complete fingerprinting, BLS CPR and a human trafficking course.
| Step | Fee |
|---|---|
| Pass the National Board Dental Hygiene Examination (NBDHE) from the JCNDE.5 | $600 |
| Pass the ADEX dental hygiene exam (clinical plus computer-based OSCE), given by CDCA-WREB-CITA, within seven years before applying.6 | $1,300 |
| Alternative: take the CRDTS dental hygiene exam instead of ADEX.7 | $1,175not counted |
| Complete the TSBDE Jurisprudence Assessment within one year before applying.8 | Not published |
| Apply online to TSBDE for licensure by examination and mail the supporting documents (transcript, NPDB self-query, CPR card, human trafficking course certificate).9 | $125 |
| Get fingerprinted through IdentoGo using the service code TSBDE emails after you apply.10 | Not published |
| After approval, pay the initial renewal to activate the license (the approval letter lets you practice for 30 days).11 | Not published |
Typical fees to start working: $2,025. Counts the NBDHE ($600), the ADEX exam with its typodont fee ($1,300) and the TSBDE application ($125). Extra costs not counted: the ADEX facility fee, the Jurisprudence Assessment, IdentoGo fingerprinting and the initial license renewal, whose current amounts are not confirmed; CRDTS ($1,175) is an alternative to ADEX. Texas hygienist licenses renew every two years with continuing education, and the Jurisprudence Assessment must be retaken once every four years. Full guide: how to become a dental hygienist in Texas
Program Facts
- Credential
- BS
- Length
- Four semesters plus a summer term (67 hours)
- Schedule
- Full time, weekdays 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
- Starts
- Once a year (apply April 1 to August 31 of the year before entry)
- Before you apply
- Seventeen course areas totaling 62 hours, including A&P I and II, Chemistry and Microbiology with labs.
- Entrance exam
- Casper situational judgment test
- Accreditation
- CODA, Approval without reporting requirements (CODA Winter 2025 actions)
- Leads to
- National Board Dental Hygiene Examination (NBDHE), a clinical licensing exam and a Texas license
Sources and Dates
- U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Dental Hygienists (29-1292), May 2025 estimates.
- Commission on Dental Accreditation (American Dental Association) (CODA), checked Nov. 2026.
- U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Texas and metro areas (employment and wage percentiles), May 2025 estimates.
- Texas Workforce Commission, long-term occupational projections, 2024 to 2034.
- JCNDE NBDHE 2026 Candidate Guide, 2026 Candidate Guide, updated 9/17/2026.
- ADEX Dental Hygiene (CDCA-WREB-CITA), Page references 2026 manuals; fee year not stated; checked Nov 2026.
- CRDTS Dental Hygiene, Class of 2027 fees; checked Nov 2026.
- TSBDE Hygienist License by Exam, checked Nov 2026.
- TSBDE Dental Hygiene Licensure Application, Application form dated April 2025; checked Nov 2026.
- TSBDE Dental Hygiene Licensure Application, Application form dated April 2025; checked Nov 2026.
- TSBDE Dental Hygiene Licensure Application, Application form dated April 2025; checked Nov 2026.
Every number was checked against its source on Nov. 4, 2026. Spot an error? Report it. Program Outcomes is independent and not affiliated with any school or CODA. Our independence policy