Independent program data. Not affiliated with any school.Texas program data checked Nov. 4, 2026 · How we source every number

Texas A&M University, College of Dentistry, Caruth School of Dental Hygiene Dental Hygiene Program: Pass Rate, Jobs and Local Pay

A BS program in Dallas.

Dental hygiene · BS · Dallas, Texas · Updated Nov. 4, 2026

We are still collecting data for this program. This page will be listed in search once it has published outcomes and a cost or program details.

Total cost
NBDHE pass rate
Job placement
Payback time
Local wage
$101,870
Median, Dallas 1

How Graduates Do

CODA requires every accredited program to publish the same outcome measures, so they can be compared program to program. 2

?
NBDHE rate
?
Job placement
96.5%
Median of 4 Texas programs

Graduates who passed the National Board Dental Hygiene Examination, as the program publishes it. CODA does not require programs to post a standard set of outcomes, so many Texas programs publish none, and those that do differ in years and detail. Job placement: graduates employed as dental hygienists, as the program reports it.

What It Costs

Texas A&M University does not publish a total cost for this program. The FAQ gives only a cost of attendance figure for one cohort term (DH1 Spring 2026), not a program total Ask the program for its cost sheet; contact details are on its page.

For comparison only, not this program's price: the 13 Texas dental hygiene programs that publish a cost range from $4,290 to $29,729, with a median of $13,670.

Jobs and Pay in the Dallas Area

$101,870
Median pay, Dallas area 3
$89,240 to $116,400
What the middle half earns
7,050
Dental hygienists employed, Dallas area
1,370
Openings a year in Texas, 2024 to 2034 4

About 7,050 dental hygienists work in the Dallas area. The middle half earn between $89,240 and $116,400 a year; new graduates usually start toward the lower end. Texas expects about 1,370 openings a year statewide through 2034, from new positions, retirements and people changing jobs, with the number of jobs growing 21.8% (from 15,550 to 18,950).

Other Dental Hygiene Programs in the Dallas Area

Compare all 5 dental hygiene programs in the Dallas area

ProgramNBDHE rateJob placementCost
Collin College, Central Park
AAS, McKinney
Not reportedNot reportedNot published
Concorde Career College, Dallas
AAS, Dallas
Not reportedNot reportedNot published
Concorde Career College, Grand Prairie
AAS, Grand Prairie
Not reportedNot reportedNot published
Dallas College, El Centro
AAS, Dallas
Not reportedNot reported$5,940
Texas A&M University, College of Dentistry, Caruth School of Dental Hygiene (this page)
BS, Dallas
Not reportedNot reportedNot published

After You Graduate: Getting to Work in Texas

Texas requires a dental hygienist license from the Texas State Board of Dental Examiners (TSBDE). New graduates of a CODA-accredited program must pass the NBDHE, a Board-approved regional clinical exam (TSBDE validates ADEX and CRDTS-SRTA scores), and the TSBDE Jurisprudence Assessment, and complete fingerprinting, BLS CPR and a human trafficking course.

StepFee
Pass the National Board Dental Hygiene Examination (NBDHE) from the JCNDE.5$600
Pass the ADEX dental hygiene exam (clinical plus computer-based OSCE), given by CDCA-WREB-CITA, within seven years before applying.6$1,300
Alternative: take the CRDTS dental hygiene exam instead of ADEX.7$1,175not counted
Complete the TSBDE Jurisprudence Assessment within one year before applying.8Not published
Apply online to TSBDE for licensure by examination and mail the supporting documents (transcript, NPDB self-query, CPR card, human trafficking course certificate).9$125
Get fingerprinted through IdentoGo using the service code TSBDE emails after you apply.10Not published
After approval, pay the initial renewal to activate the license (the approval letter lets you practice for 30 days).11Not published

Typical fees to start working: $2,025. Counts the NBDHE ($600), the ADEX exam with its typodont fee ($1,300) and the TSBDE application ($125). Extra costs not counted: the ADEX facility fee, the Jurisprudence Assessment, IdentoGo fingerprinting and the initial license renewal, whose current amounts are not confirmed; CRDTS ($1,175) is an alternative to ADEX. Texas hygienist licenses renew every two years with continuing education, and the Jurisprudence Assessment must be retaken once every four years. Full guide: how to become a dental hygienist in Texas

Program Facts

Credential
BS
Starts
Once a year, fall (28 seats for 2026)
Before you apply
Texas Core must be completed before admission; the prerequisite course page could not be opened.
Entrance exam
None; 16 hours of hygienist observation and an interview
Accreditation
CODA, Approval without reporting requirements
Leads to
National Board Dental Hygiene Examination (NBDHE), a clinical licensing exam and a Texas license
Visit Texas A&M University's program page ↗

Sources and Dates

  1. U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Dental Hygienists (29-1292), May 2025 estimates.
  2. Commission on Dental Accreditation (American Dental Association) (CODA), checked Nov. 2026.
  3. U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Texas and metro areas (employment and wage percentiles), May 2025 estimates.
  4. Texas Workforce Commission, long-term occupational projections, 2024 to 2034.
  5. JCNDE NBDHE 2026 Candidate Guide, 2026 Candidate Guide, updated 9/17/2026.
  6. ADEX Dental Hygiene (CDCA-WREB-CITA), Page references 2026 manuals; fee year not stated; checked Nov 2026.
  7. CRDTS Dental Hygiene, Class of 2027 fees; checked Nov 2026.
  8. TSBDE Hygienist License by Exam, checked Nov 2026.
  9. TSBDE Dental Hygiene Licensure Application, Application form dated April 2025; checked Nov 2026.
  10. TSBDE Dental Hygiene Licensure Application, Application form dated April 2025; checked Nov 2026.
  11. TSBDE Dental Hygiene Licensure Application, Application form dated April 2025; checked Nov 2026.

Every number was checked against its source on Nov. 4, 2026. Spot an error? Report it. Program Outcomes is independent and not affiliated with any school or CODA. Our independence policy